Events Calendar 2017

Upcoming events for My Green Garden 2017

Participants at a workshop held at My Green Garden

 

Sat 4th Feb (10am-1.15pm)
Preserving the Summer Bounty: Bottled Fruit, Jams, Pickles & Relishes
  Workshop at My Green Garden 

Fri 10th Feb (9.30am-10.30am)
Doncaster Hill Community Garden Working Bee 

Sat 11th Feb  OR Weds 15th Feb (10am-1pm)
Preserving Know-How: Ways with Tomatoes Workshop at My Green Garden 

Sun 12th Feb (9.30am and 10.30am)
Italian Pickles sott'olio - Preserving demonstrations Eltham Farmers Market

Sun 12th Feb 
Clayton Festival 1-1.45pm Italian Pickles Sott'Olio
                               3-3.45pm Making Fruit Preserves

Fri 17th Feb (10am-1.15pm)
Preserving Know-How: Italian Savoury Preserves  Workshop at My Green Garden 

Thurs 23rd Feb (6.30pm-9pm)
Preparing for the Winter Harvest
  Class at Bulleen Art & Garden 

Fri 24th Feb (9.30am-10.30am)
Doncaster Hill Community Garden Working Bee No booking needed.

Sat 25th Feb (10am-1pm) and (2pm-5pm)
Summer Fruit Preserving  Workshop for My Smart Garden/City of Moonee Valley.

Sun 26th Feb (1pm-3.30pm)
Preserve your Summer Harvest Workshop for City of Stonnington. Free.  

Tues 28th Feb (2pm-4.30pm)
Beginners Guide to Backyard Chooks Kew Library, Phyllis Hore Room. 

Thurs 2nd March (6.30pm-9pm)
Sowing and Saving Seeds 
Workshop at Bulleen Art & Garden 

Sat 4th March (11am-1.30pm)
Successful Seed Growing and Saving  City of Brimbank. 

Sun 5th March (10am-1pm)
Preserving the Harvest  City of Monash. 

Sun 5th March (2pm-4.30pm)
Grow Your Own, Eat Your Own - for Beginners City of Monash. 

Tues 7th March (6.30pm-7.30pm)
Doncaster Hill Community Garden Working Bee TOPIC: The Great Tomato Taste Off. 

Sat 11th March (booked out)  OR Sun 12th March (9.30am-3pm)
Tomato Passata - the Traditional Way Workshop at My Green Garden. Includes lunch and refreshments. 

Tues 14th March (6.30pm-7.30pm)
Doncaster Hill Community Garden Working Bee TOPIC: Seed Sowing for the Winter Productive Patch. No booking needed.

Thurs 16th March (6.30pm-9pm)
Growing Vegies is easier than you think Bulleen Art & Garden 

Sat 18th March (1pm-4pm)
Kickstart your Winter Vegie Patch  Workshop at My Green Garden 

Tues 28th March (6.30pm-7.30pm)
Doncaster Hill Community Garden Working Bee TOPIC: Garlic and tips on growing nice big bulbs . 

Thurs 23rd March (6.30pm-9pm)Healthy Productive Compost and Worms  Bulleen Art & Garden 

Sun 26th March  (9.45am and repeated 11am)
Easy Zucchini Pickles 
 Demonstrations at Eltham Farmers Market 

Weds 29th March (7pm-9pm)
Preserving the Harvest Smarter Living Session for Whitehorse/Manningham Councils. 

Sat 8th April (2pm-5pm)
Beginners Guide to Growing Your Own Fruit and Vegies Hobsons Bay-My Smart Garden. 

Thurs 20th April (6.30pm-9pm)
The Joy of Backyard Chooks, Bulleen Art and Garden. 

Friday 21st April (10am-12.15pm)
Artisan Pasta: Fettuccini, My Green Garden $50. 

Sat 22nd April (9.30am-12noon)  OR Fri 28th April
Olive Magic: Curing and Preserving Olives, My Green Garden at Massaros Winery, Kangaroo Ground 

Sun 23rd April (10am-12.30pm)
Beginners Guide to Growing Vegetables, Benevolence Society Australia (private event)

Sat 29th April
DIY Worm Farms, Whittlesea Community Gardens

Fri 5th May (10.30am-12noon)
Composting and Worm Farming, Lalor Library (May Rd Lalor) 

Sat 6th May (10am-1pm)
Produce to Plate  City of Brimbank, St Albans Community Centre includes lunch prepared together.

Weds 10th May (11am-1pm)
Compost and Worms Whittlesea SOW at the Thomastown Community Gardens

Weds 10th May (8pm)
Growing and Using Italian Greens Doncaster Garden Club

Thurs 11th May (10am-1.15pm)
Safe Preserving: Jams, Pickles, Chutneys and Bottled Fruits My Green Garden 

May 5, 12, 19, 26 June 2, 16, 23  (2-3pm) (pending weather)
Doncaster Hill Community Gardens working bees

Sat 20th May (11.30am & 12.15pm)
Pickling Workshop and Preserving Demos Docklands Harvest Festival

Weds 24th May (8pm)
Thrifty Gardening Preston Garden Club

Sun 4th June (10am-1.30pm)
Making Sausages and Salami - the Traditional Way with Chef Chappy. Workshop at My Green Garden $165 Bookings essential

Mon 5th June (10.30-11.30am)
Worm farming at home Thomastown Library 

Thurs 8th June (10am-1.15pm)
Safe Preserving: Jams, Pickles, Chutneys and Bottled Fruits My Green Garden $70 Bookings essential

Tues 27th June  
Pines Learning Cooking with the Senior VCAL students: home made pasta and sauces Private event

Sun 2nd July (10am-2pm)
Artisan Pasta: Ravioli and Cannelloni Workshop at My Green Garden $90 Booked out

Fri 7th July 
Composting and Worm Farms with pre-schoolers Inservice for staff at the Camberwell Kindergarten and Child Care Centre Private event

Thurs 13th July 6.30-8.30pm
Beginners Composting City of Monash. Bookings essential. Free event

Fri 21st July 10am-1.15pm
The Age Old Art of Preserving: Bottled Fruits, Jams, Pickles and Chutneys My Green Garden $70 Bookings essential

Sun 23rd July 10am and 11am
Preserving Black Olives demonstrations and tastings Eltham Farmers' Market

Weds 26th July 10am-1.15pm
The Age Old Art of Preserving: Citrus Preserves - Marmalades, Curds, Preserved Lemons My Green Garden $75 Bookings essential

Fri 28th July 2-3pm
Building a Potato Tower Doncaster Hill Community Garden working bee

Sat 29th July 9.30am-12.30pm
Winter Fruit Tree Maintenance My Green Garden $60 Bookings essential

Sat 5th August 9.30-12.30pm
Mouth watering Sweet & Savoury Preserves Bulleen Art & Garden Bookings essential

Tuesdays 8,15,22,29th August
Cooking with VCAL Students   Pines Learning Centre

Thurs 10th August 6.15-8.45pm
Beginners Vegies City of Monash  Bookings essential

Fri 11th August 2-3pm
Doncaster Hill Community Garden working bee 'Rhubarb division and planting' 

Sun 20th August
Artisan Pasta - Fettuccini Private group booking

Weds 23rd (repeated Thurs 24th) August
Sensational Sourdough at Home My Green Garden $98 Bookings essential

Fri 25th August 2-3pm
Doncaster Hill Community Garden working bee 'Starting Tomatoes from Seed' 

Sat 26th August 10am-12.30pm
Absolute Beginners to Vegetable Growing: Your Patch from Scratch My Green Garden $50 Bookings essential

Weds 30th August 10am-1.15pm
The Age Old Art of Preserving: Bottled Fruits, Jams, Pickles and Chutneys My Green Garden $75 Bookings essential

Thurs 31st August 
Cook and Grow less common Vegetables Whittlesea Community Garden

Sat 2nd Sept
12-1.30pm Backyard Chooks 1.45-3.15pm Compost Wyndham Learning Festival: Julia Gillard Library, Tarneit

Sun 3rd Sept 12pm-3pm
Vegie Patch from Scratch Alphington Community House 

Tues 5th Sept 7pm
Thrifty Gardening Hurstbridge Garden Club

Thurs 7th Sept 6.30-9pm
How to Grow the Perfect Tomato Bulleen Art & Garden. Bookings essential $45

Fridays 8th, 15th, 22nd September 2-3pm
Doncaster Hill Community Garden working bees

Sat 9th September 10am-12.30pm
Masterclass: Seasonal Vegies from Seed My Green Garden Bookings essential $50

Thurs 14th Sept 6.30-9pm
Vegies - Beyond the Basics Bulleen Art & Garden. Bookings essential $45

Weds 20th Sept 7-8.30pm
Compost and worm farming Mill Park Library Bookings preferred. Free event.

Thurs 21st Sept 6.30-9pm
Growing Vegies is Easier than You Think Bulleen Art & Garden. Bookings essential $45

Sat 23rd Sept 10am-12.30pm
Masterclass: Soil Health and Safer Pest Control My Green Garden Bookings essential $50

Weds 27th Sept 7-9pm
Tomato Growing Masterclass Manningham Home Harvest, Manningham Civic Centre Free

Thurs 28th Sept 6.30-9pm
Healthy Productive Compost and Worms 
Bulleen Art & GardenBookings essential $45

Sat 7th Oct 11am-1pm
Welcome to Spring BBQ Doncaster Hill Community Gardens RSVP required

Sun 8th Oct 11am-3pm
Spring into Gardening Festival  Victoria Gardens Prahran

Weds 11th and Thurs 12th Oct 11am-3pm
Sensational Sourdough at Home My Green Garden Bookings essential $98

Thurs 12th Oct 6.30pm-9pm
The Joy of Backyard Chooks Bulleen Art & Garden Bookings essential $45 

Sat 14th Oct
Kitchen Revolution Stringybark Festival, Rowville $5 entry to festival

Weds 18th Oct
Scarecrow building workshops Whittlesea Community Gardens Private event

Sat 21st Oct 10am-1.15pm
The Age Old Art of Preserving My Green Garden Bookings essential $75

Sun 22nd Oct 10.15am
Cooking demonstration Eltham Farmers Market 

Sun 22nd Oct 12.30pm
Preserving demonstration Jolimont Garden Club Festival

Tues 24th Oct 10am-12pm
Kids’ potting up activities My Smart Garden Kids Festa Coronet Park, Flemington 

Weds 25th Oct 10am-1pm
Hobsons Bay Childrens’ Picnic 

Thurs 26th Oct 10am-lunch
Making Filled Pasta Whittlesea Community Garden Free workshop, bookings essential

 

 

 ...more updates to follow...

 

Classes and workshops require booking and although many are free, some may entail a charge. Please contact me with any enquiries or to make a booking for the workshops at the home of My Green Garden in Donvale, Vic.

My Green Garden at a community festival making a worm farm